Our Board
The Climate Institute Board brings together a unique set of high profile individuals from business, politics, science and academia to provide expert, forthright, non-partisan and holistic advice to inform our work.
  • Mark Wootton

    Mark Wootton

    Mark Wootton (chair) is the Principal and Manager of Jigsaw Farms, a family farm enterprise north of Hamilton, Victoria, covering 16,500 acres. Jigsaw Farms is a beef and sheep farm with large tracts of biodiversity  plantings, wetlands and agroforestry. Mark holds a Diploma of Agriculture, a Graduate Diploma of Education and  a Geography Degree from Monash University.

    • Andrew Demetriou

      Andrew Demetriou

      Andrew Demetriou was the CEO of the Australian Football League (AFL) from 2003 until his resignation in June 2014.  He is a former teacher in business, law and politics and played in the AFL. Andrew was appointed Managing Director of the Ruthinium Group in 1989, a position he held until his appointment as CEO of the AFL Players Association in 1998. Andrew remains a director of Ruthinium Group which is one of the world’s largest manufacturers and distributors of acrylic teeth, exporting to over 70 countries worldwide.

    • Susan Jeanes

      Susan Jeanes

      Susan Jeanes is Principal at Jeanes Holland and Associates and is Chair of the Advisory Board at the University of Adelaide’s South Australian Centre for Geothermal Energy Research. Susan has previously served in a number of advisory roles in the clean energy research sector and has worked in the political arena, serving in the Federal Parliament as the Member for Kingston. Susan has also worked as an Advisor to the former Environment and Heritage Minister Robert Hill on climate change and energy policy and advised a number of shadow ministers in various portfolio areas prior to 1996. She also held the position of CEO of the Renewable Energy Generators of Australia until October 2007 and CEO of the Australian Geothermal Energy Association until 2013. 
    • Adam Kilgour

      Adam Kilgour

      Adam Kilgour is Managing Director of Diplomacy Pty Limited. He is a former adviser to Victorian and Commonwealth Government Cabinet Ministers and founder of public affairs firm CPR. He has also been a Managing Director of the ASX-listed Photon Group Ltd.

    • Matt Koch

      Matt Koch

      Matt Koch is currently an Executive Director at Morgan Stanley one of the world’s leading investment banks. His primary responsibility is advising on the global investment portfolios of family offices, foundations and institutions.

      Prior to joining Morgan Stanley, Matt was a Managing Director at Merrill Lynch, working in both the US and Australia for 25 years after joining the graduate program in 1984.

      Matt holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of San Francisco.
    • Clare Martin

      Clare Martin

      Clare Martin  brings a wealth of experience to The Climate Institute through her work in journalism and public life. Clare was elected to the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly in 1995 and appointed Opposition Leader in 1999. She was elected the Northern Territory’s first Labor Chief Minister in 2001 and served in that capacity until 2007, retiring from Parliament in 2008 to become CEO of the Australian Council of Social Service. In August 2010, she took up appointment as a Professorial Fellow at Charles Darwin University's Northern Institute - an Institute focused on issues of Northern Australia and Southeast Asia. Clare now works as a communications and strategy consultant and is a director of a number of not-for-profit organisations.
    • Jenny Merkley

      Jenny Merkley

      Jenny Merkley (treasurer) is an Associate Director at KPMG in the Climate Change and Sustainability group. Jenny is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia (ICAA) and previously worked in the financial services audit division and accounting advisory group at KPMG. Jenny holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) from UTS Sydney, and a Masters in Environmental Management (UNSW).
    • Graeme Pearman

      Graeme Pearman

      Dr Graeme Pearman was elected to Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science in 1988, the Royal Society of Victoria, 1997 and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, 2005. He has been a member and chair of many Australian and international meteorological/global change committees. Graeme was the former head of CSIRO Division of Atmospheric Research. He was also a recipient of a United Nation’s Environment Program Global 500 Award in 1989 for his active involvement in a national awareness program on climate change and in 1999 he was awarded the Australian Medal of the Order of Australia for his services to atmospheric science and promotion of the science of climate change to the public.


    • Hugh Saddler

      Hugh Saddler

      Dr Hugh Saddleris currently a Principal Consultant with Pitt&Sherry and the Managing Director of SustainAbility Advice Team Pty Ltd. He is also an Adjunct Professor at the Australian National University. He has a degree in science from Adelaide University and a PhD from Cambridge University. He is the author of a book on Australian energy policy, Energy in Australia, and over 70 scientific papers, monographs and articles on energy technology and environmental policy, and is recognised as one of Australia's leading experts in this field.
    Email   Print   Subscribe
    Contact us. For further information. Follow us. Join the conversation.

    Level 15, 179 Elizabeth St.
    Sydney NSW 2000
    Tel   +61 2 8239 6299
    Fax   +61 2 9283 8154
    Site Map