Former Northern Territory chief minister joins Climate Institute Media Release

Nov 03, 2008 - 8:54am

The Climate Institute welcomes Clare Martin, former Northern Territory Chief Minister, to its Board of Directors.

Ms Martin brings a wealth of experience to the Climate Institute through her work in journalism, and public life. She was elected the Northern Territory’s first female Chief Minister in 2001 and served until 2007, retiring from NT Parliament in August 2008.

Ms Martin is now CEO of the Australian Council of Social Service.

“Ms Martin’s depth of experience and passion for positive change will make her a great asset to The Climate Institute as Australia commences its transition to a low carbon economy,” said Mark Wootton, Chair, Climate Institute.

“She joins a board who share a vision for an Australia leading the world in clean technology use and innovation, with clean and low carbon solutions a part of everyday life throughout the community, government and business.”

Established in late 2005, The Climate Institute is a non-partisan, independent research organisation that works with community, business and government to drive innovative and effective climate change solutions.

The Climate Institute is primarily funded by a donation from the Poola (Tom Kantor) Foundation.

The other Climate Institute board members are:

  • Mark Wootton (Chair): Farmer in Victorian Western Districts and Director of the Poola Foundation.
  • Dr Hugh Saddler: Managing Director of Energy Strategies Pty Ltd, one of Australia's leading experts in energy technology and environmental policy.
  • Dr. Graeme Pearman: former head of CSIRO Division of Atmospheric Research, awarded the Australian Medal of the Order of Australia for his services to atmospheric science and promotion of the science of climate change.
  • Cathy Zoi: CEO US-based Alliance for Climate Protection, Chief of Staff of the White House Office on Environmental Policy in the Clinton-Gore Administration.
  • Susan Jeanes: CEO Geothermal Energy Association, MD New Energy Directions, former Liberal MHR for Kingston and advisor to the former Environment Minister, Senator the Hon Robert Hill on energy and climate change policy.
  • Professor Tony McMichael: Former Director of the ANU's National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, adviser to Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, World Health Organisation, World Bank and other international organisations.
  • Adam Kilgour: Managing Director of the Specialised Communications Division for the ASX listed Photon Group Ltd and a member of its Executive Committee.
  • John Connor: CEO of the Climate Institute
Email   Print   Subscribe
Contact us. For further information. Follow us. Join the conversation.

Level 15, 179 Elizabeth St.
Sydney NSW 2000
Tel   +61 2 8239 6299
Fax   +61 2 9283 8154
Site Map